Remember: always follow the Leave No Trace principles when out in the wild.

Help:Moving a page

From CampWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

To move a page to a different title using the 'move' tab at the top. You might prefer to think of it as 'renaming'. Simply enter the new title for the page, and click 'Move Page'. Normally you would want to "Move associated talk page" too (leave this ticked)

If you move page "A" to a new title "B", this operation will do the following:

  • Creates the new page "B", with contents from page "A"
  • Replaces the contents of page "A" with redirect to "B"
  • Moves all the editing history from page "A" so that it appears under "B"'s history tab.

The third point is important. By using the 'Move' feature, you also move the editing history, which is desireable in most situations. The editing history allows people to see how the contents of the page were built up, and who contributed what. If you move contents around by copying and pasting (not using the move feature), you do not acheive this.

Because the move operation leaves behind a redirect, it should not result in any broken links, however you might want to hunt down the pages which link in to the redirect, and change their text to link directly to the new title. The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom left) is useful when doing this.

Proposing a move

Deciding on a page titles can be a difficult aspect of wiki organisation, and one which can often provoke debates. If the move you have in mind is one which might cause upset or could be considered controversial, you should propose the move first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labelling the page itself, with a move proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.

Undo a move

As with all wiki editing, a move operation can be reversed (by any user). To reverse a move operation, simply move the page back. e.g. move page "B" back to "A".

The page title "B" will still be left behind, as a redirect from "B" to "A". Any user can remove the redirect and propose that the page be deleted. However the final deletion will require sysop priviledges (see Help:Deleting a page).

Template:Languages

Personal tools